When to Contact the FMBIO

Contact


This is a guide for when the University, its agents, its tenants, and its programs should be in contact with the FMBIO. Whether inside or outside of structures, in nearly all types of construction, alteration, special event, life safety system service, and building system alteration, our office may be required to be involved and/or be a valuable resource.

Per Connecticut General Statutes, agreements, and policies, the FMBIO is the primary building, fire code, and fire prevention code enforcement authority for most construction in UConn owned buildings, as well as work in privately owned buildings on UConn owned land. This office is a building permit issuing authority and is the primary Local Fire Marshal “authority having jurisdiction” in all University owned buildings, and on University owned property.

Building Inspector Review or Permit Required

Any construction or alteration, including change of use/occupancy to any building or structure will require a permit. Initiation of this permit process will automatically include the Fire Marshal and Life Safety Processes.

  • Review of all new construction projects regardless of the need for a building permit
  • Any item listed on the Fire Marshal Work or activities requiring a permit or inspection page
  • Notification of any required Life Safety Systems that are out of service
  • Annual or regular Inspection of University owned occupancies and other occupancies located on University owned land
  • Review of Emergency Plans
  • Fire/explosion and Hazardous Material Incidents Investigations
  • Review/approve Fire Department access and water supplies

During planning and specification, add/delete/alteration, and testing/maintenance of sprinklers, fixed extinguishing systems, fire alarms, fire extinguishers, emergency lighting, fire hydrants, fire pumps, etc.


Our Staff


Darren Cooke
Associate Director
Direct 860-486-8038
darren.cooke@uconn.edu

Fire Marshal Unit

Steve Garvin
Fire Marshal
Direct 860-486-4644
steven.garvin@uconn.edu

Doug Caron
Deputy Fire Marshal
Direct 860-234-2357
doug.caron@uconn.edu

Derek Gaston
Fire Inspector
Direct 860-576-2663
derek.gaston@uconn.edu

Yves Poulin
Fire Inspector
Direct 860-576-4206
yves.poulin@uconn.edu

Dan Volovski
Fire Inspector
Direct 860-486-3278
daniel.volovski@uconn.edu

Building Inspectors Unit

Pat Walsh
Supervising Building Official
Direct 860-486-4039
pat.walsh@uconn.edu

David Cornell
Building Official
Direct 860-234-2733
david.cornell@uconn.edu

David Houseman
Building Official
Direct 860-933-1306
david.houseman_jr@uconn.edu

Tim Lunn
Fire Inspector
Direct 959-444-3147
tim.lunn@uconn.edu

Krish Naraine
Building Official
Direct 860-486-0699
krish.naraine@uconn.edu

Joe Pajak
Building Official
Direct 860-933-1191
joseph.pajak@uconn.edu

Paula Pierce
Building Official
Direct 860-486-2037
paula.pierce@uconn.edu

Security Unit

Eileen Brown
Direct 860-486-4543
eileen.brown@uconn.edu